Moeen Ali and Eoin Morgan lead England contingent drafted for T10 League

Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Chris Jordan, Reece Topley, Samit Patel, Tom Banton, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Chris Benjamin and Will Smeed have also been picked up for the 10-over competition, which starts on November 19

Moeen Ali and Eoin Morgan were among the first picks at the Abu Dhabi T10 League player draft for the 2021-22 season, as the six franchises built their squads ahead of the competition’s fifth season.

England’s white-ball captain Morgan was drafted by the Delhi Bulls, in a move that will see him link up with England teammates Adil Rashid and Jason Roy, while Ali joins the likes of Chris Jordan, Reece Topley and Samit Patel at Northern Warriors.

Elsewhere, Somerset and Welsh Fire opener Tom Banton and Yorkshire and Northern Superchargers batter Tom Kohler-Cadmore were picked up by the Mushtaq Ahmed-coached Deccan Gladiators, while youngsters Chris Benjamin and Will Smeed earned maiden overseas franchise contracts for Team Abu Dhabi and Bangla Tigers respectively after breakout seasons for Birmingham Phoenix in The Hundred.

At the other end of the age spectrum, 46-year-old Shahid Afridi secured a move to Bangla Tigers, while former India international Yusuf Pathan sealed a deal with Maratha Arabians despite having announced his retirement from all cricket earlier in the year.

Gloucestershire and Birmingham Phoenix all-rounder Benny Howell returns to the T10 League after being drafted by Bangla Tigers, as was Surrey and Oval Invincibles opener Will Jacks. The latter made waves worldwide after making a 25-ball century in a pre-season T10 game for Surrey and will turn out for the Tigers after having previously appeared for Delhi Bulls.

Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Marchant De Lange and Romario Shepherd were also picked up, as were Englishmen Adam Lyth and Ross Whiteley, and the Irish trio Mark Adair, Curtis Campher and Josh Little.

Abu Dhabi T10 League squads 2021: Full team and player lists

Each of the six sides had earlier pre-selected an icon player each, with Andre Russell’s services being secured by Deccan Gladiators, Bangla Tigers swooping for South Africa’s Faf Du Plessis, and Team Abu Dhabi selecting Liam Livingstone.

Teams were also able to retain players from last season’s squads. Retentions include Wanindu Hasaranga and Tymal Mills at Deccan Gladiators, Chris Gayle and Paul Stirling at Team Abu Dhabi and Qais Ahmad at Bangla Tigers.

Paul Farbrace, who was recently announced as head coach of Team Abu Dhabi, told the BBC that he feels the T10 is now “one of the leading short-form tournaments in the game”.

“Many of the world’s best players take part each year and this is a great opportunity to work closely with them”, he continued.

“Gaining insight into how the players approach such an explosive competition is going to be fascinating and hopefully there will be many learnings from this competition that I can bring back to Edgbaston to support our development as a T20 team.”

The Abu Dhabi T10 league begins on November 19 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium, concluding on December 4, making it the longest edition of the tournament in its history.

Credits: thecricketer